back to article Nikon D3000 digital SLR

The D3000 is the new entry-level DSLR from Nikon and it’s aimed at the complete beginner with high-performance ambitions. It replaces the best selling D60 and marks a much needed and anticipated upgrade. The basic kit includes an 18-55mm lens and comes in at £429, stirring up competition for its main rivals the Canon EOS 450D, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Giles Jones Gold badge

Feature suggestion

If there's one feature a beginners SLR needs to have it is a message to say:

"You are using the kit lens. To achieve good photographs buy a decent lens"

The lenses are what matters, too many beginners buy the best SLR body they can afford and forget about the lens.

2. Jeroen Wijnands

nice real world review.

Elsewhere the D3000 is bashed because it uses the old D40 sensor. Nice to read a real world review about this cam.

3. Pavel Tcholakov
    Thumb Up

Nothing wrong with kit lenses

The latest round of kit lenses are actually really good performers. The only reason to upgrade is if you need either a) something tougher and better built; or b) to shoot in lower light, i.e. a faster maximum aperture. There is nothing wrong with the kit lens for the crowd that buys these cameras, supplement it with Nikon's excellent 35mm f/1.8G DX prime and you have a very well-rounded kit.

4. sig

Another feature suggestion

How about a cable release socket? It was bad enough back in the Jurassic period when the only option on a Nikon was their expensive electronic release rather than a simple screw-in cable release. Now one has to spend a thousand or more to gain an electronic release socket. On cheaper models the designed solution is the infra-red remote. Bah

5. Aristotles slow and dimwitted horse
    Stop

@ Giles Jones

I disagree.