back to article Zend offers PHP cure for Java bloat

Zend Technologies has built an application server for PHP that it hopes can slowly convert frustrated Java programmers as well as those relying on Java on the web and in the enterprise. On Tuesday, the company is expected to unveil the Zend Server, a paid-for PHP stack that comes with service agreements and support and the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Flame

Interesting, but:

1. Page 2 of the article appears blank to me

2. How will the recession make it harder for companies to find affordable J2EE devs? Surely, recession = layoffs = increased supply of devs, reduced demand = more, cheaper J2EE devs available.

3. Drupal is an embarrasment

2. Avalanche

Where is page 2

It looks like the article is missing page 2 (or that page 2 should not be there...)

3. Anonymous Coward
    Paris Hilton

Great alternative ...

... or not. I write Java for a living. I'd rather nail my nuts to my desk with a rusty fork than write PHP (yes, I have written PHP before too). Hiltons problems sounds like the result of a poor team rather than poor tools. You can have the best tools in the world, but if the team sucks the result will also suck.

4. S
    Thumb Down

Cast first the beam out of thy own eye!

Well moving between Java plaforms is one thing - moving from Java EE To PHP quite another. PHP is still a mess, whether you've got Zend to add a semblance of order to it or not.

I recently completed a project using the Zend framework, and while it's a good step up from plain PHP, it still has some major flaws. Having to program in PHP is one of them ;) The other is performance - the Zend framework in it's current incarnation is extreemely slow - Probably due to the fact that it dynamically pulls in at least ~40 scripts for each page for each and every page request, no-matter how trivial.