back to article Google mounts Chewbacca defense in EU privacy debate

Over at The Official Google Rhetoric Blog, the world's largest search engine continues to muddle the debate over the privacy of IP addresses. As the European Union questions whether IP addresses should be considered "personal data" - "personally identifiable information" in American parlance - Google software engineer Alma …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Solomon Grundy
    Boffin

Technical Clarification

I'm no networking expert so if anyone of you could help me understand this I would really appreciate it.

If IP addresses are dynamic how can people like the RIAA track downloads back to users? Wouldn't that mean that "I" might not be the person doing the downloading - that it could be someone else that at some point used the same IP address as me?

If IP addresses are static why do ISP's charge more for the option.

I just don't get it.

2. Wayland Sothcott

Back in Freeserve days...

I noticed that I was sharing the same IP address as one of my friends who was posting on the same forum. The forum was using IP addresses to tackle a problem with people posting under different names. It seems that we were somehow running under some kind of NAT with Freeserve being our 'Router'.

If you use a service like email which identifies you then at least that server knows what your dynamic IP was at that time. An authority with a large enough reach to be able to look at all logs from all servers would easiliy be able to trace your path.

Remember you have nothing to fear if you have nothing to hide, yeah I recon!

3. Anonymous Coward
    Coat

We Define IP Addresses as PID

...in our [tinfoil/black helicopter] privacy policy. If we store it, we store PID.

It's ludicrous to think of them as anything else.

Glad to see Google has a sense of humor.

BTW: my IP address is 10.216.5.90 ;)

It's the one with "Vote for Pedro" on the back...

4. Scott

@Solomon Grundy