back to article Could chocolate protect your brain?

Excellent news: chocolate is might be good for your brain. Research presented at the American Associate for the Advancement of Science suggests that eating a specially formulated type of cocoa could improve brain function and slow the brain's decline as we slide into old age. Sadly for anyone who relishes objective science, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Adam Azarchs

Chocolate contains things similar to caffine

Chocolate contains chemicals which are nearly identical to caffeine (not quite, though). Caffeine is already known to increase blood flow in the brain. This shouldn't come as a surprise, really. What would be interesting would be a comparison between chocolate and coffee.

2. Matt Milford

Chocolate contains Sugar...

Chocolate contains sugar, your brain runs on sugar...

I'm no expert but... it seems sensible enough.

3. regadpellagru

Marketing "science". Again.

"Sadly for anyone who relishes objective science, the work has been funded by Mars.

Even more sadly, the research is being used to promote an actual product, taking it from the realms of science and straight into marketing."

Yep, same thing has been going on all over France for

a great deal of the past 5 years, now.

This is to the point some sarcastic paper, here, is usually

dedicating a whole articles section to the food study of the

week

(http://www.canardenchaine.fr, in case you want to know).

As long as authorities allow marketing to be actually

fueled by unofficial para-science, we'll see it ...

4. Greg Nelson

Could chocolate protect your brain?

Wrap the Mars bar in tinfoil.

5. John Angelico

Scientific objectivity? Sir!

"Sadly for anyone who relishes objective science, the work has been funded by Mars."

I know of no objective reason why Earth should object to the objectivity or lack thereof, of Martian scientists.