back to article Capita's bespoke British Army recruiting IT cost military 25k applicants after switch-on

Capita's 2017 decision to implement bespoke IT systems on a £1.3bn British Army recruiting contract led to nearly 25,000 fewer applications to join the military in the following year, new figures have revealed. The switching-on of bespoke Defence Recruiting System (DRS) IT systems contributed to the lowest number of wannabe …

Page:

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: When I was young...

Well they wouldn't be very busy because you're not going to get a stream of people queing to join the army but 1 recruit to them is probably equivalent to a thousand shoppers at Tesco.

As for terrorist targets , well yes, but then anything was a target for the IRA. Ask the parents of the children those psychopaths blew up.

1. herman

Also, I would think that many recruits are unable to read and handle a web application. (I am an ex-army officer, so I know what the quality of recruits are like!)

1. sniperpaddy

Projecting much?

Youngsters these days are very familiar with standard browser-based UI's.....unless it is badly designed.

2. Templogin

Perhaps this ex-officer might like to go forth and inspect a few war memorials and contemplate the quality of those who died.

1. Anonymous Coward
    Devil

Next step: outsource the whole military to Capita...

... they know well how to find low-paid recruits.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Next step: outsource the whole military to Capita...

Just conscript Crapita staff...

1. Version 1.0 Silver badge

Just conscript Crapita management...

FTFY

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

The medical hospitals would be full of soldiers with holes in their feet..

3. macjules

We would end up with a new definition of BYOD - Bring Your Own Defence

4. Ashto5

When they attack the safest place will be directly in front of them

2. Alpy
    Facepalm

Large outsourcing is dead within UK Gov...